Fondazione Antonio Ratti

Give and Take

4–20 November 2010
Fabbrica del Vapore

Watch on Vimeo

The exhibition, staged in three different venues at Fabbrica del Vapore, gave the opportunity to see the work of the international artists selected for the course, whose projects were carried out during the seminar conducted by Hans Haacke.

Give and take presented installations, performances, videos, photographs, and drawings that tackled in a variety of ways the theme developed together with the Visiting Professor.

During the workshop, Hans Haacke analyzed with the young selected artists the different existing relationships among themselves and their place of origin; a similar modality of research was conducted towards Como and towards the context in which the artists worked during the period of the course, which introduced significant elements to the whole project.

The course created an occasion to reflect upon the concept of "site-specificity" and of "significance" of a particular object, image, practice, or action.

A jury made composed by Carla Conca (Business Manager of Epson Italia Video Projectors), Annie Ratti (Director of the Advanced Course in Visual Arts), and Andrea Lissoni (Art Historian and Curator at Hangar Bicocca, Milan), announced the names of the three winners of the Epson FAR Award for artistic research's 5th edition: Julia Brown, Birte Endrejat and Abbey Shaine Dubin.

The exhibition, curated by Anna Daneri and Cesare Pietroiusti, was organized by Fondazione Antonio Ratti under the patronage of Comune di Milano – Settore Tempo Libero, in collaboration with Careof, DOCVA, Viafarini, with the support of Epson.

The participant artists were: Walter Benjamin Smith (USA), Julia Brown (USA), Antonia Carrara (Italy), Danilo Correale (Italy), Abbey Shaine Dubin (USA), Laura Duran (Colombia), Birte Endrejat (Germany), Fausto Falchi (Italy), Till Gathmann (Germany), Adelita Husni-Bey (Italy), Kentaro Ikegami (Japan), François Lemieux (Canada), Eric Martijn (Holland), Ludovic Méhauté (France), Emily Morant (Australia), Elaine Marianne Reynolds (Ireland), Fabrizio Sartori (Italy), Elisa Strinna (Italy), Oriol Vilanova (Spain).

Please rotate your phone

We use cookies